Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

Kelly Gable, PharmD, BCPP, Suzanne Harris, PharmD, BCPP, Kelly Lee, PharmD, BCPP, FCCP, and Rosana Steavenson, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS, represented AAPP and psychiatric pharmacy in reviewing and recommending edits to the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) and Department of Defense (DoD) on the VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guideline for Assessment and Management of Patients at Risk for Suicide.

AAPP member Jonathan Leung, PharmD, BCPS, BCPP and his colleagues authored an article on Clozapine and inflammation, published recently in JCPP. You can hear Dr. Leung discuss his research on the ACCP podcast with editor Lindsay DeVane, an AAPP Judith J Saklad award recipient.

Mary Accomando, PharmD, BCPP, Lauren E. Leiby, PharmD, BCPP, Brittany L. Parmentier, PharmD, MPH, BCPS, BCPP, Danielle L. Stutzman, PharmD, BCPP, and Andreea Temelie, PharmD, BCPP, represented AAPP and psychiatric pharmacy in commenting to the Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee (IACC) on Co-Occurring Conditions in Autism.

Elayne D. Ansara, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS, Jennifer Bean, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS, Amber R. Douglass, PharmD, BCPS, BCPP, Robert J. Haight, PharmD, BCPP, Farah Khorassani, PharmD, BCPP, Monica Mathys, PharmD, BCGP, BCPP, Emma C. Palmer, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS and Kristin Waters, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS, represented AAPP and psychiatric pharmacy in commenting on APA Guidelines on Delirium. 

M. Lynn Crismon, PharmD, FCCP, DABCP, BCPP, Behrens Centennial Professor Emeritus of Pharmacy & Professor of Psychiatry, The University of Texas at Austin - College of Pharmacy, Austin, TX, will receive the Paul R. Dawson Award for Excellence in Patient Care Research for his internationally-renowned work in psychopharmacology and the development of evidence-based guidelines for treating patients with mental health disorders. The award will be presented at AACP’s Annual Meeting, Pharmacy Education 2024, July 20-23, in Boston, Massachusetts.

AAPP members Jonathan Leung, Vicki Ellingrod, and Jeff Bishop joined additional authors in publishing a Systematic Review of Clozapine-Associated Inflammation and Related Monitoring. Additionally, Dr. Leung is featured in an ACCP journal podcast discussing this topic.

AAPP was invited to contribute to a USA Today article on how the mental health crisis is fueling a post-pandemic rise in medication use. In the article, President Amy Werremeyer, PharmD, BCPP, comments on the positive change in understanding that mental health equals health. However, she notes the need to reduce stigma and other barriers to access to treatment for those living with mental illness.

Catherine Hall, PharmD, BCACP, BCPP, Stephen Saklad, PharmD, BCPP, and Nina Vadiei, PharmD, BCPP, will present "The Public Health Implications of Incompetency to Stand Trial: Psychiatric Pharmacist Perspective" at the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy Virtual Educational Poster Session on July 18, 2024.

AAPP Past President Megan Ehret, PharmD, MS, BCPP, represented AAPP as a member of the APhA House of Delegates at the APhA Annual Meeting. Related new business topics included Community Pharmacy Methadone Dispensing for Opioid Use Disorder, Substance Use Disorder, and Patient-Centered Care of People Who Use Non-Medically Sanctioned Psychotropic or Psychoactive Substances. HOD actions will be distributed at a later date. A special thanks to Dr. Ehret for her service in this role as well as delivering an educational session directed to increasing access to care to long-acting injectables. The session was directed to advanced clinical practitioners and community pharmacy and was entitled: Psychotropic Long-Acting Injectables: An Overview for Pharmacists.

AAPP Past President Deanna Kelly, PharmD, BCPP, was interviewed Taylor Stewart TV at Fox 45 WBFF Baltimore. Dr. Kelly shared about why she is studying a ketogenic diet to improve mental health. View the full interview online.

Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >