Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

The CPNP board officer transition will occur on July 1. CPNP thanks outgoing board members Marshall Cates, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP, FCCP, Clint Ross, PharmD, BCPP, and Tawny Smith, PharmD, BCPP, for their dedicated service.

Continuing on the Board for 2022-2023 are Robert Haight, PharmD, BCPP, Cindy Gutierrez, PharmD, MS, BCPP, Sarah Melton, PharmD, BCPP, BCACP, FASCP, Michelle Geier, PharmD, BCPP, and Benjamin Chavez, PharmD, BCPP, BCACP.

Suzanne Harris, PharmD, BCPP
Professor/Director of Well-being and Resilience/Clinical Pharmacist Practitioner
UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
Chapel Hill, NC

Dr. Suzanne Harris is an assistant professor in the Division of Practice Advancement and Clinical Education and the Director of Well-being and Resiliency at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. She also serves as a board-certified clinical pharmacy practitioner in psychiatry at UNC Medical Center, where she is involved with psychiatric medication management for patients with psychosomatic disorders and serves as a preceptor for pharmacy students and residents.

Harris received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 2002 from the University of Texas College of Pharmacy at Austin and completed a psychiatric specialty residency with Kaiser Permanente Colorado Region in Denver, Colorado. Harris’ career and research interests are focused on stigma and mental health and their relation to overall wellness in pharmacy students and pharmacists, transitions of care and cultural competency for psychiatric patients, and innovative practice models and teaching strategies. She is a member of the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists, American Association of the Colleges of Pharmacy, North Carolina Association of Pharmacists, and the National Alliance on Mental Illness-Durham, where she serves in leadership roles, with invited speaking engagements on mental health and well-being.

Amy Werremeyer, PharmD, BCPP
Professor & Chair, Dept. of Pharmacy Practice
Clinical Specialist in Psychiatry
North Dakota State University
Fargo, ND

Dr. Amy Werremeyer graduated from North Dakota State University (NDSU) with a Pharm.D. degree in 2005 and completed PGY1 residency training at the Fargo VA Medical Center. She became certified by the Board of Pharmacy Specialties in Psychiatric Pharmacy in 2010. For the past 15 years, Dr. Werremeyer has been in a clinical faculty role at NDSU where she is currently a tenured Professor and Chair of the Pharmacy Practice Department. She teaches pharmacotherapy of Psychiatric and Neurologic Disease to pharmacy, nurse practitioner, and medical students and residents. Her psychiatric pharmacy clinical practice has centered in inpatient, partial hospital, and community mental health ambulatory settings where she provides drug information, consultation services, group patient education, and precepts pharmacy students on APPEs. Dr. Werremeyer also has an active research program and is a subject matter expert on a research team that focuses on upstream prevention of opioid misuse and accidental overdose.

Andrew Williams, PharmD, BCPP, BCGP
Senior Clinical Pharmacist
Behavioral Health and Neighborhood Pharmacies
Riverside University Health System
Riverside, CA

Dr. Andrew Williams graduated from the University of Southern California and completed a PGY-1 residency in Acute Care with a Psychiatry emphasis and a PGY-2 in Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice at USC. Dr. Williams accepted a faculty appointment as Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice at Loma Linda University in Loma Linda, CA. After 2 years, he transitioned away from full time academia and into full time clinical practice for the county health system in Riverside County, located in Southern California. For the past nearly 6 years, he has practiced at Riverside University Health System’s (RUHS) mental health campus, which is a 77-bed inpatient psychiatric hospital and the county’s only psychiatric emergency department (adult and child/adolescent).

Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >