Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

CPNP Research Awards

Abstracts and Awards Council Chair Julie Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, is pleased to recognize the 2020 CPNP Research and Practice Award winners and finalists. Announced April 29, during CPNP’s 23rd Annual Meeting, these awards recognize excellence in investigators presenting abstracts at the CPNP Annual Meeting. Award Finalists presented platform presentations and displayed their posters during the virtual meeting.

Award Winners

Therapeutic Case Report Award Winner:

Jonathan Leung, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS, Psychiatric Clinical Pharmacist, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
Successful Continuation of Clozapine in Conjunction with Autologous Chimeric Antigen Receptor T-cell (CAR T) Immunotherapy

Innovative Practices Award Winner:

Shuwen Wu, PharmD, PGY-2 Psychiatric Pharmacy Resident, William S. Middleton Memorial Veterans Hospital, Middleton, WI
Naloxone Stand-Down Day: A Risk-Prioritized Telephone Outreach Event

Original Research Award Winner:

Colin Maehler, Pharmacy Intern, Children's Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Transforming Pharmacy Intern Attitudes, Stigma, and Clinical Skills on an Adolescent Inpatient Psychiatry Unit

Research Trainee Award Winner:

‚ÄčCharles Dorflinger, PharmD, BCPS, MS, PGY-2 Psychiatric Pharmacy Resident, VA Northeast Ohio Healthcare System, Cleveland, OH
Effectiveness of Paliperidone Palmitate One-Month Long-Acting Injection in Obese Versus Non-Obese Patients

CPNP Foundation Strategic Goals Award Winner:

Rajkumar Jyotishchandra Sevak, PhD, RPh, Assistant Professor, University of the Pacific, TJ Long School of Pharmacy & Health Sciences, Stockton, CA
Impact of a Required Neuropsychiatric Course on Mental Health Stigma among Students Enrolled in an Accelerated Pharmacy Program

Additional Award Finalists

Therapeutic Case Report Award Finalist:

Bradley Burk, PharmD, Psychiatric Clinical Pharmacist, University of Alabama at Birmingham Medical Center, Birmingham, AL
Taking a Chill Pill: A Case Report of Acute Hypothermia during Initial Inpatient Titration of Clozapine

Innovative Practice Award Finalist:

Jordan Cooler, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Assistant Professor, University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy, Columbia, SC
Implementation of Psychiatric Clinical Pharmacy Services in an On-Campus University Counseling and Psychiatry Clinic

Original Research Award Finalist:

Jackson Kicklighter, Student Pharmacist, High Point University, High Point, NC
Expanding Naloxone Education in the PharmD Curriculum

Research Trainee Award Finalist:

Hayden Stewart, PharmD, PGY-2 Psychiatric Pharmacy Resident, Michael E. DeBakey Veteran Affairs Medical Center, Houston, TX
Veteran Adherence to Oral Versus Injectable Alcohol Use Disorder Medication Treatment

CPNP Foundation Strategic Goals Award Finalist:

Grace Marielle Singson, Student, USC, La Crescenta, CA
Assessing Perception and Knowledge of USC School of Pharmacy Students Regarding Mental Health and LGBTQ+ Care

Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >