Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

The College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists (CPNP) board officer transition occurred on July 1. CPNP thanks outgoing board members Sara Dugan, PharmD, BCPP, Robert Haight, PharmD, BCPP, Raymond C. Love, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP, and Ann Richards, PharmD, BCPP, for their dedicated service.

Continuing on the Board for 2017-2018 are:

  • Marshall Cates, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP, Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy, Birmingham, AL
  • Deanna Kelly, PharmD, BCPP, President, Professor, University of Maryland, Baltimore, MD
  • Leigh Anne Nelson, PharmD, BCPP, Secretary, Associate Professor, University of Missouri-Kansas City, Kansas City, MO

CPNP welcomes the three members elected by the membership to serve on the 2017-2018 Board of Directors. Assuming their offices effective July 1, 2017, were Drs. Benjamin Chavez, Megan Ehret, and Amy Werremeyer.

Benjamin Chavez, PharmD, BCPP, BCACP
Associate Professor
University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy Aurora, CO

Dr. Chavez first became interested in psychiatric pharmacy during his time at the University of Florida. He then completed a Psychopharmacology Residency at Nova Southeastern University and then worked in an acute inpatient psychiatric hospital in New Jersey, in conjunction with Rutgers University. Dr. Chavez is currently with the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Salud Family Health Center, a federally qualified health center.

Megan Ehret, PharmD, MS, BCPP
Behavioral Health Clinical Pharmacy Specialist Department of Defense
Fort Belvoir, VA

Dr. Ehret began her training as a pharmacy student at the University of Toledo, graduating with both a BS and PharmD. She completed an ASHP accredited residency in Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice at the Louis Stokes VAMC and then completed a two-year Pharmacogenomics and Psychopharmacology Fellowship under the direction of Gary Levin at Nova Southeastern University. Dr. Ehret received her initial faculty appointment at the University of Connecticut in 2006 and gained tenure there in 2012. While at UConn, she shared responsibility for teaching the Neurology and Psychiatry Therapeutic Modules, precepted Doctor of Pharmacy students on inpatient clinical rotations, and co-lead the student chapter of CPNP. Dr. Ehret is currently a Behavioral Health Clinical Pharmacy Specialist at Fort Belvoir Community Hospital, where she supervises a Medication Management Clinic with several psychiatric medical residents. In addition, she also treats her own panel of patients.

Amy Werremeyer, PharmD, BCPP
Associate Professor of Practice
Dept. of Pharmacy Practice

Clinical Specialist in Psychiatry
North Dakota State University
Fargo, ND

Dr. Werremeyer graduated from North Dakota State University (NDSU) with a PharmD degree in 2005 and completed PGY1 residency training at the Fargo VA Medical Center. For the past 10 years, she has been in a faculty role at NDSU where she was promoted from Assistant to Associate Professor of Practice in 2012 and recently completed a term as the Vice Chair of the Pharmacy Practice Department. For the past 10 years, she has practiced on the Inpatient and Partial Hospital Behavioral Health units at Sanford Medical Center in Fargo, ND where she provides drug information and consultation services, provides group patient education and precepts pharmacy students on APPEs. Dr. Werremeyer became certified by the Board of Pharmacy Specialties in Psychiatric Pharmacy in 2010.


Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >