Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

My receipt of the Saklad award in Washington remains the highlight of peer recognition for my career. It was Judy Saklad and a handful of other clinical pharmacists in psychiatry who established a credibility for this field leading to board certification, an enduring pharmacy discipline, and CPNP. 

C. Lindsay DeVane, Pharm.D.
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Medical University of South Carolina

Receiving the Saklad Award was the highlight of my professional career. It was not only an opportunity to accept congratulations, but interact with colleagues to discuss lessons learned and consider our future. The award afforded me the opportunity to both renew existing professional relationships and connect with younger members.

Raymond C. Love, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP
Professor, University of Maryland

Nominations for the prestigious Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award are being accepted through September 19. This award is presented annually to a senior psychiatric pharmacy practitioner who has achieved a level of professional distinction and demonstrates a continuing dedication to the practice of psychiatric pharmacy. Like Dr. Saklad, this practitioner will represent the qualities and ideals of professional enthusiasm, in addition to possessing a passion for optimizing patient care.

The Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award celebrates the life and work of the late Judith J. Saklad. Dr. Saklad was Clinical Pharmacologist and Clinical Coordinator of Pharmaceutical Services at San Antonio State School and Clinical Assistant Professor of Pharmacy and Pharmacology at The University of Texas at Austin and the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. She was a founding member of CPNP and nationally recognized as an innovator of pharmaceutical care to children and adults with serious mental disorders, developmental disabilities, and mental retardation.

You are encouraged to review the Saklad award criteria and provide a substantive, thoughtful nomination for the colleagues you believe are most deserving of this recognition.

Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >