The Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award

Judith J. Saklad, Pharm.D. The Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award celebrates the life and work of the late Judith J. Saklad. Dr. Saklad was Clinical Pharmacologist and Clinical Coordinator of Pharmaceutical Services at San Antonio State School and Clinical Assistant Professor of Pharmacy and Pharmacology at The University of Texas at Austin and the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. She was a founding member of CPNP and nationally recognized as an innovator of pharmaceutical care to children and adults with serious mental disorders, developmental disabilities, and mental retardation.

This award is to be presented annually to a senior psychiatric pharmacy practitioner who has achieved a level of professional distinction and demonstrates a continuing dedication to the practice of psychiatric pharmacy. Like Dr. Saklad, this practitioner will represent the qualities and ideals of professional enthusiasm, in addition to possessing a passion for optimizing patient care.

Past recipients of this award include Glen Stimmel (1998), Barbara Wells (1999), Lindsay DeVane (2000), Larry Ereshefsky (2001), Lynn Crismon (2002), Martha Fankhauser (2003), R. Lee Evans (2004), Stephen Bryant (2005), James E. Wilson (2006), Michael Z. Wincor (2007), Ann Richards (2008), Stanley Weber (2009), Ray Love (2010), Roger W. Sommi (2011), Stephen Saklad (2012), Paul Perry (2013), Cynthia Kirkwood (2014), Carla Cobb (2015), Sally Guthrie (2016), Eugene Makela (2017), Matthew Fuller (2018), Gary Levin (2019), and Julie Dopheide (2020).

View past recipients' biographies and presentations.

Saklad Award Criteria

2022 Saklad Award Recipient

Robert L. Dufresne, Ph.D., Ph.D., BCPS, BCPP
Professor of Pharmacy
The University of Rhode Island College of Pharmacy
Kingston, RI
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Mental Health
Providence VA Medical Center
Providence, RI

Dr. Rob Dufresne received his BS in Pharmacy, MS in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and his PhD’s in the Pharmaceutical Sciences and Psychology from the University of Rhode Island. He is currently board certified in both psychiatric and general pharmacotherapy (BCPP and BCPS). He initially worked in clinical research at the Rhode Island Psychiatric Research and Training Center (1980) and is presently a Professor of Pharmacy at the University of Rhode Island where he has been teaching since 1990. He has also been a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Mental Health since 1995 at the Providence VA Medical Center where he has an outpatient practice in psychiatric pharmacotherapy. He initiated and co-developed an ASHP-accredited PGY2 psychiatric pharmacy residency in 2013 in which he still precepts. He is a founding member of the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists (CPNP) and has served this organization in various capacities since its inception including serving on its board of directors, the journal, and numerous committees. He is currently the faculty mentor for the University of Rhode Island student chapter of CPNP. Prior to the first national CPNP meeting, he organized smaller CPNP sessions at several annual National Clinical Drug Evaluation Unit [(NCDEU) now American Society of Clinical Psychopharmacology (ASCP)] meetings.

Dr. Dufresne’s scholarship over the course of his career has been diverse. He has published over 40 articles in peer reviewed journals and has served as a reviewer for numerous publications as well as a guest editor. He has also served as a section reviewer for RI-INBRE for several years. His early work often involved research into the pharmacotherapy of affective disorders, schizophrenia, and depression in schizophrenia. However, much of his later work involved studying the effects of atypical antipsychotics on metabolic disorders and he has published extensively concerning antipsychotic induced dyslipidemia. This included the initial reports demonstrating increased serum triglycerides in patients receiving atypical antipsychotics.

While Dr. Rob Dufresne has enjoyed a broad range of rewarding experiences during his long career in psychiatric pharmacy, the most important has been the opportunity to mentor and facilitate the education of numerous pharmacy students and residents who are now extraordinarily successful and competent practitioners, educators, scientists, administrators, and medical affairs personnel. He also is grateful for the chance to work with so many gifted and gracious mentors and colleagues over the year.  

Dr. Rob Dufresne has been married for 35 years to his wonderful wife Gina and has two awesome daughters Kimberly (31) and Kathryn (27). His hobbies include playing piano and guitar, writing music, jogging, swimming, and reading science fiction.

25 Years!