Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

AAPP Co-Sponsors Hill Briefing on Barriers to Treatment in Schizophrenia

On May 24 (World Schizophrenia Day), the Schizophrenia & Psychosis Action Alliance and the American Association of Psychiatric Pharmacists co-hosted a briefing on Capitol Hill focused on the multiple treatment barriers people living with schizophrenia face, as well as the policy and regulatory solutions that are needed to address these barriers. Along with an individual living with schizophrenia and a disability rights speaker, AAPP Past President Deanna Kelly, PharmD, BCPP, Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Maryland School of Medicine and Interim Director of the Maryland Psychiatric Research Center, spoke about the barriers to treatment, including the harms of the Clozapine REMS. 

Jessica Ho has welcomed a baby girl to her family.

Archana Jhawar welcomed a baby boy on February 11.

AAPP members Marnie Noel, PharmD, BCPP, and Michelle Geier, PharmD, APh, BCPP, co-atuthored The Howard Street Method: A Community Pharmacy-Led Low Dose Overlap Buprenorphine Initiation Protocol for Individuals Using Fentanyl.

AAPP members Joe Cusimano, Carol Ott, Shannon Saldana, and CC Wartman authored a new infographic resource demonstrating a few of the ways that psychiatric pharmacists impact health care access, quality and economic stability. This new infographic highlights 2030 Health People statistics followed by specific examples of interventions intended to impact change.

Megan Ehret, PharmD, MS, BCPP, Jeremy Daniel, PharmD, BCPS, BCPP, Robin Hieber, PharmD, BCPP, and Chris Paxos, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS, BCGP, represented AAPP and psychiatric pharmacy in reviewing and recommending edits to the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) and Department of Defense (DoD) on the VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guideline for the Management of Posttraumatic Stress Disorder and Acute Stress Disorder.
Chris Paxos, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS, BCGP, was selected as the Northeast Ohio Medical University College of Pharmacy 2023 recipient of the Liebelt Wheeler Award.
Kelly Lee, PharmD, MAS, BCPP, FCCP, was named an ASHP Fellow for 2023. 2023 Fellows will be honored on Tuesday, June 13, 2023, during a ceremony at the ASHP Summer Meetings & Exhibition in Baltimore.
Kelly Lee, PharmD, MAS, BCPP, FCCP, and David Dadiomov, PharmD, BCPP, represented AAPP at NATCON23 by presenting a podium presentation on Psychiatric Pharmacists: Integral Members of the Healthcare Team.
Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >