Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

The College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists (CPNP) board officer transition will occur on July 1. CPNP thanks outgoing board members Lisa Goldstone, MS, LPC, PharmD, BCPS, BCPP, and Heidi Wehring, PharmD, BCPP, for their dedicated service.

Continuing on the Board for 2021-2022 are Marshall Cates, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP, FCCP, Robert Haight, PharmD, BCPP, Clint Ross, PharmD, BCPP, and Tawny Smith, PharmD, BCPP.

CPNP congratulates the three members elected by the membership to serve on the 2021-2023 Board of Directors. Assuming their offices effective July 1, 2021, will be Drs. Michelle Geier, Cindy Gutierrez (transitioning from current Secretary of the Board), and Sarah Melton. These 3 new members will join Drs. Marshall Cates (Past President), Robert Haight (President), Clint Ross (Member-at-Large), and Tawny Smith (Secretary) on the Board for 2021-2022.

Incoming Member-at-Large
Michelle Geier, PharmD, BCPP
Psychiatric Clinical Pharmacist Supervisor
San Francisco Department of Public Health
San Francisco, CA

Dr. Michelle Geier graduated from University of Washington School of Pharmacy and completed a pharmacy practice PGY1 residency at the VA Puget Sound and a psychiatric pharmacy PGY2 residency at University of California San Francisco/San Francisco Department of Public Health. She began working with the San Francisco Department of Public Health Behavioral Health Service (SFDPH BHS) as a psychiatric and substance use disorders clinical pharmacist in 2012. In her current practice, she provides ambulatory care psychiatric services in a public health specialty mental health clinic. Some of the projects she has worked on include naloxone prescribing by pharmacists, deprescribing sedative-hypnotics and initiating buprenorphine in high risk areas with transitions to outpatient (including jail, inpatient and the emergency department). 

Incoming President-Elect
Cindy Gutierrez, PharmD, MS, BCPP
Associate Chief, Clinical Pharmacy Programs
South Texas Veterans Health Care System
San Antonio, TX

Dr. Cindy Gutierrez graduated from The University of Texas College of Pharmacy with a Doctor of Pharmacy in 2001, and then went on to complete a two year combined Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice Residency - Master of Science in Pharmacy through The University of Texas and The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio in 2003. Since then she has served patients as a psychiatric clinical pharmacy specialist at the South Texas Veterans Health Care System (STVHCS), when she joined the PRIME Psychiatry interdisciplinary outpatient clinic. The team provides care to those with serious mental illness, with a focus on the whole patient rather than symptoms, and patient-identified recovery goals, with a focus on decreasing hospitalizations and emergency room visits. Cindy developed the formal PGY2 Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice Residency at STVHCS and achieved initial ASHP accreditation in 2006. Over the past three years she has assumed a greater management role, now serving as Associate Chief of Clinical Pharmacy Programs, but continues to see patients in PRIME one day per week. Nationally, she serves as a VA Pharmacy Benefits Management (PBM) Clinical Pharmacy Advisory Board member, and Chairs the VA PBM Clinical Pharmacy Practice Office Mental Health Subject Matter Expert Workgroup.

Incoming Treasurer
Sarah Melton, PharmD, BCPP, BCACP, FASCP
Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Gatton College of Pharmacy
Johnson City, TN

Dr. Sarah Melton received her Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy (1991) and Doctor of Pharmacy (1994) degrees from Virginia Commonwealth University/Medical College of Virginia School of Pharmacy (VCU). She completed a Fellowship in Psychiatric Pharmacy at VCU in 1996. She has been a BCPP since 1997 and a board certified ambulatory care pharmacist since 2011. She is a Fellow of the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists. Dr. Melton is a professor of pharmacy practice at ETSU and maintains significant clinical practice with focus on mental illness and substance use disorders in rural, medically underserved areas. She has worked in Central Appalachia to fill unmet needs, advocate for patient-centered care, and to fight stigma associated with mental illness and substance use disorders. In addition, she serves in an innovative practice at the ETSU Center of Excellence for HIV-AIDS. 



Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >