Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

The College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists (CPNP) membership has elected three officers to serve on the 2019-2021 Board of Directors. Assuming their offices effective July 1, 2019, will be Drs. Cates, Smith, and Wehring. These 3 new members will join Drs. Lisa Goldstone, Megan Ehret, Ericka Crouse, and Karen Moeller on the Board for 2019-2020.

Incoming President-Elect
Marshall Cates, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP, FCCP
Professor & Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice
Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy
Birmingham, AL

 Dr. Marshall Cates received a BS in biology from Rhodes College and a PharmD from the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy. He completed a Psychiatric Pharmacy Residency at the University of Tennessee and held a clinical position in the VA healthcare system for 3 years. Dr. Cates has been an academic pharmacist for the past 23 years. As a clinical faculty member, he has held psychiatric pharmacist appointments in a variety of practice settings over the years, including a state psychiatric hospital, a VA medical center, a community mental health center, and a private hospital.

Incoming Treasurer
Tawny Smith, PharmD, BCPP
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
The University of Texas at Austin, Dell Medical School, Austin, TX

Dr. Tawny Smith attended the University of Illinois-Chicago where she received a doctorate in pharmacy degree. She went on to complete a Psychiatric Pharmacy Residency and 2 year Fellowship at The University of Texas at Austin. Her first two positions after completing post-doctoral training were both in the academic arena. First as an Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Texas- Southwestern Medical Center (UT-Southwestern) in Dallas, TX and then as an Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice at The University of Texas at Austin (UT-Austin), College of Pharmacy. In 2008, Dr. Smith joined the Seton Healthcare Family, but maintained academic ties. She has recently returned to academia and is currently employed by the UT Dell Medical School as an Associate Professor of Psychiatry.

Incoming Member-at-Large
Heidi Wehring, PharmD, BCPP
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Maryland Psychiatric Research Center
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD

Dr. Heidi Wehring completed her BS and PharmD degrees at the University of Iowa, a psychiatric pharmacy practice residency at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, and, after 8 years in clinical pharmacy and academic practice in New York (St. John’s University/The Zucker Hillside Hospital) and California (Touro University-California), working in both acute and long-term inpatient and outpatient settings, returned to complete a fellowship in psychiatry at the Maryland Psychiatric Research Center, University of Maryland School of Medicine. For the past 6 years, she has served as Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, focusing on a combination of research and clinical treatment with a goal of improving the lives of children and adults with mental illness.



Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >