Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

The College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists (CPNP) membership has elected three officers to serve on the 2017-2019 Board of Directors. Assuming their offices effective July 1, 2017, will be Drs. Benjamin Chavez, Megan Ehret, and Amy Werremeyer.

Incoming Treasurer
Benjamin Chavez, PharmD, BCPP, BCACP
Associate Professor
University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy
Clinical Pharmacist – Salud Family Health Center

Dr. Chavez first became interested in psychiatric pharmacy during his time at the University of Florida. His first APPE rotation was at a VA hospital helping to run a clozapine clinic, and then he went on to complete a Psychopharmacology Residency at Nova Southeastern University. In 2010, Dr. Chavez shifted his focus from inpatient psychiatry to ambulatory care with a focus on behavioral health with the University of Hawaii Family Medicine Residency program. Currently, Dr. Chavez is Associate Professor at the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Salud Family Health Center, a federally qualified health center, where they have implemented collaborative practice agreements for depression, anxiety, and bipolar disorder, along with protocols for chronic disease states such as diabetes, hypertension, and hyperlipidemia.

Incoming President-Elect
Megan Ehret, PharmD, MS, BCPP
Behavioral Health Clinical Pharmacy Specialist

Department of Defense
Fort Belvoir Community Hospital
Fort Belvoir, Virginia

Dr. Ehret began her training as a pharmacy student at the University of Toledo, graduating with both a BS and PharmD.  She completed an ASHP accredited residency in Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice at the Louis Stokes VAMC, followed by a two-year Pharmacogenomics and Psychopharmacology Fellowship at Nova Southeastern University. Dr. Ehret received her initial faculty appointment at the University of Connecticut in 2006 and gained tenure there in 2012. While at UConn, she shared responsibility for teaching the Neurology and Psychiatry Therapeutic Modules, precepted Doctor of Pharmacy students on inpatient clinical rotations, and co-led the student chapter of CPNP. Additionally, Dr. Ehret worked with the Center for Correctional Health Networks, serving as the Director of Practice and as faculty on Project ECHO: Buprenorphine. Currently, Dr. Ehret is a Behavioral Health Clinical Pharmacy Specialist at Fort Belvoir Community Hospital where she supervises a Medication Management Clinic with several psychiatric medical residents.

Incoming Member-at-Large
Amy Werremeyer, PharmD, BCPP
Associate Professor of Practice
Department of Pharmacy Practice, College of Health Professions, School of Pharmacy
North Dakota State University
Fargo, ND

Dr. Werremeyer graduated from North Dakota State University (NDSU) with a Pharm.D. degree in 2005 and completed her PGY1 residency training at the Fargo VA Medical Center. For the past 10 years, she has been in a faculty role at NDSU being promoted from Assistant to Associate Professor of Practice in 2012. She recently completed a term as the Vice Chair of the Pharmacy Practice Department. Dr. Werremeyer has taught pharmacotherapy of Psychiatric and Neurologic Disease to pharmacy and nurse practitioner students for the past 9 years. She has also practiced on the Inpatient and Partial Hospital Behavioral Health units at Sanford Medical Center in Fargo, ND where she provides drug information and consultation services as well as group patient education. Additionally, she precepts pharmacy students on APPEs. 

Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >