Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

CPNP Board Transitions Officers on July 1

The College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists (CPNP) board officer transition occurs on July 1. CPNP thanks outgoing board members Steve Burghart, DPh, MBA, BCPP, Jonathan Lacro, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS, FASHP, and Jennifer Zacher, PharmD, BCPP for their dedicated service. Continuing on the Board for 2016-2017 are:

  • Sara Dugan, PharmD, BCPP, Associate Professor, Northeast Ohio Medical University College of Pharmacy and Medicine, Rootstown, OH
  • Robert Haight, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist-Psychiatry, University of MN Medical Center, Minneapolis, MN
  • Ray Love, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP, Past President, Professor, University of Maryland, Baltimore, MD
  • Ann Richards, PharmD, BCPP, Advisory Appointee (ex-officio) Pharmacy Director, San Antonio State Hospital & Texas Department of State Health Services, San Antonio, TX
  • Christopher Thomas, PharmD, BCPP, President, Clinical Pharmacist in Psychiatry, Chillicothe Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Chillicothe, OH

CPNP welcomes the three members elected by the membership to serve on the 2016-2018 Board of Directors. Assuming their offices effective July 1, 2016, will be Drs. Marshall Cates, Deanna Kelly, and Leigh Anne Nelson.

Incoming Member-at-Large
Marshall Cates, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP
Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy
Birmingham, AL

Dr. Cates received a B.S. in biology from Rhodes College and a Pharm.D. from the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy. He also completed a Psychiatric Pharmacy Residency at the University of Tennessee and held a clinical position in the VA healthcare system for 3 years. His current titles are Professor of Pharmacy Practice at the Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy and Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine, and his current practice site is Brookwood Medical Center Psychiatry & Behavioral Health Program. Psychiatric pharmacy practice and education has been the passion of his career. Dr. Cates was among the first group of pharmacists to become board certified in psychiatric pharmacy in 1996 and has been a CPNP member since 1998.

Incoming President-Elect
Deanna L. Kelly, PharmD, BCPP
Professor of Psychiatry

Director, Treatment Research Program
Maryland Psychiatric Research Center
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Affiliate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Science
University of Maryland School of Pharmacy


Dr. Kelly first became a member of CPNP in 1997. After graduating from Duquesne University Mylan School of Pharmacy, she completed a residency at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy and became board certified in Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice. She began her career at the Maryland Psychiatric Research Center (MPRC), University of Maryland School of Medicine in 1997 and now directs the Treatment Research Program at the MPRC where she oversees research operations on a large inpatient and outpatient program of people with mental illness who continue to need better treatments.  Dr. Kelly has advanced to full time Professor in the School of Medicine with an Affiliate Professor appointment in the School of Pharmacy. She is currently Principal Investigator on a handful of NIH and foundation grants and runs many clinical trials for new pharmacologic targets for mental illness. Additionally, she mentors many multidisciplinary students, residents and fellows. Administratively, she serves as Associate Editor of Clinical Schizophrenia and Related Psychoses, as Vice Chair of the Maryland Department of Mental Health and Hygiene IRB, as Chair of the MPRC Junior Faculty Mentoring Committee and as a member of many local and national organizations and committees.

Incoming Secretary
Leigh Anne Nelson, PharmD, BCPP
Associate Professor
University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Pharmacy
Kansas City, MO

Dr. Nelson received a pharmacy degree from the University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC) in 1995. After completion of a Pharmacy Practice Residency, she completed a Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice Residency and Fellowship at the Capital District Psychiatric Center/Albany College of Pharmacy in Albany, NY. Upon completion of her fellowship, she joined the faculty at the St. Louis College of Pharmacy. She left that position to gain experience in pharmaceutical industry as a Medical Science Liaison with Bristol-Myers Squibb in the specialty area of Neuroscience before returning to academia in 2005. She is currently an Associate Professor at the UMKC School of Pharmacy in the Division of Pharmacy Practice and Administration. She has practice experience in adult inpatient psychiatry in both the acute and intermediate/long-term care settings with her current practice being in acute care at Truman Medical Center-Behavioral Heath in Kansas City, MO. Dr. Nelson has been a CPNP member since 1998.

Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >