Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

CPNP Research Awards

Abstracts and Awards Council Chair Jonathan G. Leung, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS, is pleased to recognize the 2016 CPNP Research and Practice Award winners and finalists. Presented April 18, during CPNP’s 19th Annual Meeting in Colorado Springs, these awards recognize excellence in investigators presenting abstracts at the CPNP Annual Meeting. Award Finalists presented platform presentations and displayed their posters during the meeting.

Award Winners

CPNP Foundation Strategic Goals Award Winner:

Natalie Valentino, PharmD, Pharmacy Resident, Salt Lake City VAHCS, Salt Lake City, UT
Assessment of Rationale in Refusal of Take-home Naloxone by Veterans at Risk for Opioid Overdose in the Primary Care Setting

Innovative Practices Award Winner:

Richard Silvia, PharmD, BCPP, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice, MCPHS, Boston, MA
Collaborative Treatment of Depression by a Psychiatric Pharmacist Integrated within a Community Health Center Primary Care Clinic

Original Research Award Winner:

Douglas Boggs, PharmD, MS, BCPP, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist Psychiatry, VA Connecticut Healthcare System, West Haven, CT
Assessment of the Dose-Dependent Motor Effects of Intravenous Delta-9-Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC)

Research Trainee Award Winner:

Nicholas Ong, PharmD Candidate 2017, Student, The University of Arizona College of Pharmacy, Tucson, AZ
Prescription Stimulant Medication Attitudes and Beliefs of Undergraduate Students Involved in Social Sororities

Therapeutic Case Report Award Winner:

Cristofer Price, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Pharmacy Program Manager - Mental Health, Providence Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Providence, RI
Fatal Aspiration of Gastric Contents Secondary To Clozapine Induced Constipation

Additional Award Finalists

CPNP Foundation Strategic Goals Award Finalist:

Victoria Seaton, PharmD, UAMS College of Pharmacy Assistant Professor, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Fayetteville, AR
Student Pharmacists' Social Distancing Towards People with Mental Health

Innovative Practice Award Finalist:

Emma Palmer, PharmD, BCPS, BCPP, Assistant Professor of Clinical and Administrative Sciences, Sullivan University College of Pharmacy, Louisville, KY
Increasing naloxone access in Kentucky: Training pharmacists to initiate naloxone dispensing per-protocol

Original Research Award Finalist:

Mark Schneiderhan, PharmD, BCPP, Associate Professor, University of Minnesota - Duluth, College of Pharmacy, Duluth, MN
Gender-specific improvements in metabolic markers for diabetes and dyslipidemia among patients on antipsychotics receiving Pharmacist Comprehensive Medication Management Services – 12 month randomized study

Research Trainee Award Finalists:

Seenae Eum, PharmD, MS, Fellow, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
Anticholinergic Burden and Neuropsychological Deficit in Psychotic Disorders

Therapeutic Case Report Award Finalist:

Christie Hart, PharmD, MBA, PGY1 Resident, Iowa City Veterans Affairs Healthcare System, Iowa City, IA
Administration Considerations with use of Paliperidone Palmitate Long-Acting Injectable in a Patient with Breakthrough Symptoms of Schizoaffective Disorder

Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >