Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

Carla D. Cobb, PharmD, BCPP
CPNP Foundation Board Member
Psychiatric Pharmacist, RiverStone Health Clinic

Barbara G. Wells, PharmD, FASHP, FCCP
CPNP Foundation President
Dean Emeritus and Professor Emeritus
University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy

Each year the CPNP Foundation features progress on Foundation initiatives at the CPNP Annual Meeting, while also attempting to shine a light on stigma and bring the patient/caregiver perspective to the meeting.  Foundation events were well attended and well received.

Stigma and Psychiatric Disorders

The Foundation was pleased to co-sponsor with CPNP to provide an enlightening presentation by Michael Friedman, PhD, MS entitled “Stigma and Psychiatric Disorders: Understanding and Managing Personal Biases.” Dr. Friedman, a clinical psychologist in New York City presented startling evidence that patients with mental illness are treated differently than those without, even by healthcare professionals. This presentation helped attendees to examine and better understand their own preconceptions which might serve as a barrier to optimal treatment. He proposed strategies that healthcare providers can consider to overcome their biases toward patients with mental illness, including those with substance use disorders, thus lessening social isolation and improving access to care.

Community Mental Health Pharmacy Directory

Posters on display at CPNP 2015 rolled out the new Community Mental Health Pharmacy Directory, a searchable web-based national directory of community pharmacies which focuses on the special needs of individuals living with psychiatric disorders. The website will identify specific services each of these pharmacies provide to meet patient needs. The Foundation is partnering with Otsuka to develop this website which will launch in the summer of 2015. This initiative is driven by the Foundation’s desire to increase patient access to needed services, improve clinical outcomes, and recognize pharmacists and pharmacies in the community that are going above and beyond to provide exceptional care to individuals with psychiatric disorders. 

Defining the Futures Grants

The Defining the Futures Research Grant Program for Students and Residents was officially rolled out at CPNP 2015. Through a competitive selection process, the Foundation will fund up to three grants of up to $1500 each. Funded projects must address stigma associated with psychiatric or neurologic disorders or comprehensive medication management as a best practice. Applications for these grants will be submitted online and are due by August 31, 2015. Recipients will be announced October 1st, and recipients must submit their findings as a poster at the 2016 Annual Meeting. 

CPNP Foundation Walks for NAMI

The CPNP Foundation partnered with CPNP to sponsor the 9th Annual 5K Run/Walk benefitting the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI). All entrance fees and donations to this event were matched by CPNP.  A total of 113 individuals contributed to the important work of NAMI for a total of $2,300 in donations which was matched by CPNP. Wednesday morning of the Annual meeting, a check in the amount of $4,600 was presented to Mr. Chuck Harman, National Director, Strategic Alliances and Development for NAMI. The 10th Annual 5K Run/Walk for NAMI will be held April 20, 2016 at the Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colorado during the 2016 Annual Meeting. Be sure to make plans to participate. 

Pharmacy Student Travel Grants

Again this year the CPNP Foundation provided complimentary registration and partial travel support to 15 students to attend the 2015 Annual Meeting. The Foundation Board is committed to assisting students to explore their interests in the care of individuals with psychiatric and neurologic disorders. The grant recipients were selected by the CPNP Student Committee. Recipients were:

Kevin Bozymski         Christopher Oprica
Abigail Buchman Jacob R. Peters
Rebeca H. Campbell Joann Maithy V. Phan
Marie-Claire Desrosiers Ellen Schafer
Christina Dorman Megan Shell
Matthew G. Fischer Brigitte Stolz
Caroline E. Kim Natalie Valentino
Zachary McCormack  


Return to The AAPP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >