Saklad Memorial Award

CPNP was honored to present the Saklad Memorial Award at the 2012 CPNP Annual Meeting for the fifteenth time. This award celebrates the life and work of the late Judith J. Saklad. Dr. Saklad was a founding member of CPNP and nationally recognized as an innovator of pharmaceutical care to children and adults with serious mental disorders, developmental disabilities and mental retardation. The 2012 recipient is Dr. Stephen R. Saklad.

Stephen R. Saklad, PharmD, BCPP
Director of Psychiatric Pharmacy Program in San Antonio
San Antonio State Hospital and University of Texas College of Pharmacy
San Antonio, TX

Dr. Saklad earned his Pharmacy degree at the University of Southern California in 1978. He did a NIMH fellowship in Psychiatric Pharmacy at the University of Nebraska Medical Center at Omaha in 1978-79, with Jim Wilson, PharmD, and joined the faculty of The University of Texas College of Pharmacy in 1979. He has lived in San Antonio, Texas since 1979. He is married and the father of triplet sons.

He was the first clinical pharmacist hired by the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation (now the Texas Department of State Health Services) when he began as Clinical Coordinator at San Antonio State Hospital in 1979. He has received several awards for his clinical services from the state agency and local facility. Dr. Saklad has provided care in a variety of settings and treatment roles at San Antonio State Hospital. He wrote and successfully lobbied for the creation of a clinical research unit at San Antonio State Hospital that was funded by the Texas Legislature and governed by the College of Pharmacy, Department of Psychiatry, and San Antonio State Hospital.

Dr. Saklad has served as a member of the Board of Directors of CPNP. He was the Director of the University of Texas Psychiatric Pharmacy Residency Program in San Antonio several times and precepted over 50 post-doctoral residents, fellows, and graduate students.

Dr. Saklad has published articles and presented to many groups around the country on a variety of pharmacy and mental health related topics. He teaches courses for pharmacy students on CNS pharmacotherapy topics, and is course director for the multicampus Advanced Pharmacotherapy Laboratory. He was the editor of Psychopharmacology Update, a newsletter founded by Frank Tornatore, PharmD, from 1998-2002. He edited two editions of a compendium based upon this newsletter: Psychopharmacology Desktop Reference, published by Manisses Communications Group in 1999 and 2002. He was the editor of the Journal of the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists (JCPNP), briefly published as a peer-reviewed online journal in 2002. He is now the Senior Editor of the Mental Health Clinician (MHC), CPNP's new monthly publication. Dr. Saklad has been a principal or sub-investigator for studies of the efficacy and adverse effects of Phase II, III, and IV psychotropic agents in schizophrenia, mood disorders, and other serious mental illness, as well as their pharmacokinetics and interactions.

CPNP Research Awards

Poster and Award Chair Jeff Bishop, PharmD, BCPP, is pleased to recognize the Research and Practice Award winners and finalists selected at the recently completed 15th Annual Meeting. These awards recognize excellence in investigators presenting abstracts at the CPNP Annual Meeting. Award Finalists presented platform presentations during the meeting and displayed their posters during the meeting.

Innovative Practice Award Winner:
Morgan C. Snyder, PharmD, Resident, The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy, Austin, TX. Application of STOPP Criteria in Comparison to Beers Criteria in an Inpatient Psychiatric Facility and Impact on Utilization of Potentially Inappropriate Medications and Adverse Outcomes

Innovative Practice Award Finalist:
Thea R. Moore, PharmD, BCPP, Associate Professor, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL. Utilization of Practice Faculty in the Development of Neuro/Psych Geriatric Pharmacy Services in a Health Science Center

Original Research Award Winner:
Douglas L. Boggs, PharmD, BCPP, MS, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist Psychiatry, VA Connecticut Healthcare System, West Haven, CT. Effects of Intravenous Nicotine on Symptomology and Cognition in Schizophrenia

Original Research Award Finalist:
Alberto Augsten, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Psychiatric Pharmacy Specialist, Memorial Regional Hospital, Miami, FL. Comparison of psychiatric readmission rates of intramuscular paliperidone palmitate versus oral paliperidone

Research Trainee Award Winner:
Kristen N. Gardner
, Student Pharmacist, University of Michigan College of Pharmacy, Ann Arbor, MI. Relationship Between The Fatty Acid Desaturase 2 (FADS2) Gene Variant rs174583 And Lipid Levels In Subjects With Schizophrenia

Research Trainee Award Finalist:
Caitlin M. Hughes, PharmD, PGY2 Psychiatry Resident, UNC Hospitals, Chapel Hill, NC. Clinical Management of Metabolic Syndrome: Does Mental Illness Impact Care?

Therapeutic Case Report Award Winner:
Jonathan G. Leung, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS, Psychiatric Clinical Pharmacist, Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic/University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh, PA. Donepezil as a Precipitating Factor of Mania: A Case Report

Therapeutic Case Report Award Finalist:
Amber Riesselman, PharmD, Assistant Professor, Sullivan University College of Pharmacy, Louisville, KY. "Closing-in" on clozapine dosing: a case warranting th