Tampa, Florida served as host city for the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacist’s 15th Annual Meeting held April 29-May 2. This four-day conference hosted a record number 507 attendees and featured over 20 hours of cutting-edge scientific presentations, an industry supported symposium, two product theaters and a display of 143 scientific posters. Tawny Smith, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist-Psychiatry, Seton Healthcare Family, Austin, Texas, served as Program Chair of the CPNP Annual Meeting. Sarah Melton, PharmD, BCPP, CGP, FASCP, BCACP, Clinical Pharmacist, C-Health, PC and Highpower, PC, Lebanon, VA, served as chair of Recertification continuing education. CPNP’s 16th Annual Meeting will be held April 21-24, 2013 at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Kicking off the meeting was a motivating keynote address by Dr. Barbara Wells who spoke of leadership lessons learned with emphasis on helping attendees select strategies to maximize their ability to bring about change in their professional setting. Dr. Roy Perlis continued with a keynote focused on studies demonstrating continuity between disorders and their clinical relevance. Day 3 of the Annual Meeting continued the theme of excellent programming with a keynote address by Dr. Madhukar Trivedi addressing current and future research focused on identifying specific predictors of depression treatment response. Rounding out the theme of change was a keynote address by Judge Steven Leifman who focused on Mental Illness in the Criminal Justice System and how pharmacists can play a role in constructing a comprehensive and competent criminal justice/mental health treatment system.

CPNP presented the 15th Saklad Memorial Lecture Award to Stephen R. Saklad, PharmD, BCPP, Director of Psychiatric Pharmacy Program at San Antonio State Hospital. CPNP was also successful in raising over $2500 for the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) through the fifth annual CPNP Walks for NAMI event, a 5K run/walk on the final day of the meeting. Attendee donations were matched dollar for dollar by CPNP.

In addition to providing high quality education, the following CPNP business and recognition was conducted at the CPNP Annual Meeting.


  • Installation of 2012-2013 officers was conducted at the Annual Meeting. Jerry McKee, PharmD, BCPP, Associate Director, North Carolina Community Care of North Carolina (NCCCN), Raleigh, North Carolina, passed the gavel to, Rex S. Lott, PharmD, BCPP, Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Idaho State University College of Pharmacy; Mental Health Clinical Pharmacist, Boise VA Medical Center, Boise, Idaho. Also recognized as new President-Elect was Julie Dopheide, PharmD, BCPP, Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy, Psychiatry and the Behavioral Sciences at the University of Southern California-School of Pharmacy and Keck School of Medicine, Los Angeles, CA. Drs. Lott and Dopheide will assume their duties beginning in July of 2012.

Remaining on the board for 2012-2013 are:

  • Megan Ehret, PharmD, BCPP, Member-at-Large, Assistant Professor, University of Connecticut, Hartford, CT
  • Steven Burghart, DPh, MBA, BCPP, Treasurer, Director of Pharmacy, Rolling Hills Hospital, Franklin, TN
  • Gary Levin, PharmD, BCPP, FCCP, Advisory Appointee, Associate Dean for Clinical Programs, Roseman University of Health Sciences-College of Pharmacy, Henderson, NV

Joining the Board of Directors in July of 2012 are:

  • Ellie Elliott, PharmD, BCPP, Secretary, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist-Mental Health, Center for Behavioral Medicine, Kansas City, MO
  • Troy A. Moore, PharmD, MS, BCPP, Member-at-Large, Assistant Professor, University of Texas HSC San Antonio and Clinical Pharmacy Specialist-Psychiatry, Audie L. Murphy VA Hospital, San Antonio, TX

Departing from the Board are:

  • Carol Ott, PharmD, BCPP, Secretary, Clinical Assistant Professor, Purdue University, Wishard Health Services, Indianapolis, IN
  • Gerald Overman, PharmD, BCPP, Member-at-Large, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, National Institutes of Health (NIH), Washington, DC (Dr. Overman serves in his own personal capacity)
  • Steve Stoner, PharmD, BCPP, Past President, Clinical Professor and Chair, University of Missouri at Kansas City, Kansas City, MO

Also installed at the Annual Meeting were 2012-2013 Committee Chairs for CPNP as follows:

  • Business Development Committee: Steve Stoner, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Professor and Chair, University of Missouri at Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
  • Consumer Relations Committee: Karen Moeller, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Associate Professor, University of Kansas, Kansas City, KS
  • Legislative Committee: Carla Cobb, PharmD, BCPP, Psychiatric Pharmacist, RiverStone Health, Billings Montana
  • Mental Health Clinician Editorial Board: Stephen Saklad, PharmD, BCPP, Director of Psychiatric Pharmacy Program, San Antonio St Hospital and University of Texas College of Pharmacy, San Antonio, TX
  • Past President’s Council: Steve Stoner, University of Missouri at Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
  • Program Committee: Jodie Malhotra, PharmD, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Denver Heath Medical Center, Denver, CO
  • Publications and Online Products Committee: Leigh Anne Nelson, PharmD, BCPP, Assistant Professor, University of Missouri-Kansas City, Kansas City, Missouri
  • Recertification Committee: Sarah Melton, PharmD, BCPP, CGP, Associate Professor, Director of Addiction Outreach, Appalachian College of Pharmacy, Oakwood, Virginia
  • Research and Career Development Committee: Ryan Carnahan, PharmD, MS, BCPP, Clinical Assistant Professor, University of Iowa, College of Public Health, Iowa City, IA
  • Resident and New Practitioner Committee: Robert Haight, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, University of Minnesota Medical Center, Minneapolis, MN
  • Review Course Editorial Board: Eric Kutscher, PharmD, BCPP, Associate Professor, South Dakota State University, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Student Committee: Sarah Grady, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Associate Professor, Drake University, Des Moines, IA


CPNP’s mission is to promote excellence in pharmacy practice, education and research to optimize the treatment outcomes of individuals affected by psychiatric and neurologic disorders by:

  • Facilitating the dissemination of information regarding psychiatric and neurologic pharmacotherapy, patient care and community support
  • Facilitating programs in the areas of psychiatric and neurologic pharmacy at national meetings with organizations which support similar interests
  • Improving care for patients with psychiatric and neurologic disorders
  • Advancing the quality of research in the pharmacotherapy of psychiatric and neurologic disorders
  • Supporting the Psychiatric Pharmacy Certification Exam process and programs preparing exam candidates.

If you are interested in membership or the Annual Meeting, please contact CPNP at:

College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists, 8055 O St., Ste. S113, Lincoln, NE 68510

402-476-1677 (phone); 888-551-7617 (fax); info@cpnp.org; cpnp.org