Lee Evans, Pharm.D., FASHP, BCPP

The 2004 recipient of the Judith Saklad Award is Lee Evans, Pharm.D., FASHP, BCPP. Dr. Evans presented the Saklad Memorial Lecture at the 2004 CPNP Annual Meeting. The title of his presentation was "Psychiatric Pharmacy In Context: Perspective Of A Clinical Paper Pusher".

Lee Evans, Pharm.D., FASHP, BCPP has served as Dean of the Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy, Auburn, Alabama since 1994. Previously he held the post of Chairman, Division of Pharmacy Practice, and Professor, Pharmacy Practice and Psychiatry, University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC) from 1987 to 1994. He also held the post of Director, Psychopharmacy Education and Research, Western Missouri Mental Health Center, which operated one of seven postgraduate psychopharmacy residency and fellowship training programs in the United States.

Dr. Evans is a Georgia native who completed his B.S. in Pharmacy at the University of Georgia in 1971. His training followed with a residency in hospital pharmacy at the Medical University of South Carolina and a Pharm.D. degree from the University of Tennessee in Memphis in 1973. In 1973, he joined the faculty of the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy in Memphis where he cultivated an interest in psychiatric pharmacy and joined the faculty to pursue this specialty. In 1975 he joined the faculty at UMKC to become Project Coordinator for Development of the Clinical Practice Model in Community Pharmacies. Subsequently, he became Section Head of Ambulatory Care Instruction and initiated the psychopharmacy education and research program. His clinical practice, teaching, and research focus has been on the appropriate pharmacotherapy of psychiatric patients. Dr. Evans is a Board Certified Psychiatric Pharmacist and has worked with psychiatric patients for over 21 years. Dr. Evans has also served as a Special Pharmacist Medicare Surveyor evaluating psychiatric facilities.

Dr. Evans, an active member of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) since 1973, has served both as Chairman and Secretary of the Council of Faculties (COF). Examples of service include: Chairman, Standing Rules Committee of the COF; Chair, Workshop on Outcomes Assessment in Pharmaceutical Education; Chair, Planning AACP/NIH/ACCP Conference for Clinical Researchers in the Pharmaceutical Sciences; Chair, "Orientation of New and Aspiring Faculty" Committee, COF; Member, Planning Commission and the Task Force on Faculty Models, STPP; Faculty, AACP-Lilly Invitational Conference on Communications Skills Competency; Member, Joint NABP-AACP Committee to Develop, "The Internship Experience: A Manual for Pharmacy Preceptors and Interns," and Nominations Committee, STPP. He has presented at annual meetings and has served as a faculty delegate and reviewer for meeting papers and AJPE. He has served as a member of American Council of Pharmaceutical Education accreditation teams.

Currently, he is an active member of the American Society of Health System Pharmacists, American Pharmaceutical Association, American College of Clinical Pharmacists, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, Alabama Society of Health System Pharmacists, Alabama Pharmacist Association, American Association for Higher Education, Alabama Higher Education Partnership and the A.K. Rice Institute.

Dr. Evans has published extensively in pharmacy and medical literature with over forty journal articles and book chapters. He received the University of Kansas City Faculty Fellow Award in 1986 for his research efforts. Amongst his interests are: improving pharmacotherapy for mental illnesses using investigational agents; improving treatment regimens with traditional agents; and the development of collaborative multidisciplinary health professional education. He has worked on both Kellogg and Pew initiatives to establish community-based health education programs. Since joining Auburn University, he has lead the conversion of the School’s professional education program to the Doctor of Pharmacy degree; shifted the pedagogy to student centered learning which was designed to create life-long learners who can work collaboratively in teams; instituted a longitudinal patient care responsibility for students that starts in the first professional year and extends throughout the curriculum; increased the numbers of faculty, students and staff and corresponding budget; facilitated the intense use of technology in the curriculum; and gained approval and funding for new School of Pharmacy facilities.