During AAPP 2024, AAPP presented the 2024 Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award to Vicki Ellingrod, PharmD, FCCP, FACNP, Professor, University of Michigan College of Pharmacy, Ann Arbor, MI.

The Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award is presented annually to a senior psychiatric pharmacy practitioner who has achieved a level of professional distinction and represents the qualities and ideals of professional enthusiasm, a passion for optimizing patient care, and continuing dedication to the practice of psychiatric pharmacy. The Saklad Memorial Award is named after the late Judith J. Saklad.

Vicki L. Ellingrod, PharmD, FCCP, FACNP, is the Dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Michigan and the John Gideon Searle Professor of Pharmacy. She is also a professor of Psychiatry and Psychology within the Medical School and College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Within the University of Michigan, she serves as associate director of the Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research (MICHR), and principal investigator for the K12 program, which provides training and mentoring in translational research for health professionals and junior faculty. Both of these initiatives are competitively supported by the National Center for the Advancement of Translational Science (NCATS). She obtained her bachelor’s and PharmD from the University of Minnesota and then completed a postdoctoral fellowship in psychopharmacology/pharmacogenetics at the University of Iowa, followed by joining the faculty there as an assistant professor. Her research has focused on the identification of genetic markers related to drug response in mental illness and has been funded by NIMH (National Institute of Mental Health) the FDA, and industry. Prior to joining the faculty at the University of Michigan, Dr. Ellingrod was a practicing clinical pharmacist working on the medical psychiatry unit at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. Dr. Ellingrod is a founding member of the American Association of Psychiatric Pharmacists (AAPP) and a fellow of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP), as well as the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP). She also serves as a scientific editor for Pharmacotherapy and the Journal of Clinical and Translational Science and is an editor on the textbook DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy a Pathophysiologic Approach.

Congratulations to Dr. Ellingrod!