During AAPP 2023, AAPP presented the 2023 Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award to Charles Caley, PharmD, BCPP, Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice, Western New England University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Springfield, MA.

The Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award is presented annually to a senior psychiatric pharmacy practitioner who has achieved a level of professional distinction and represents the qualities and ideals of professional enthusiasm, a passion for optimizing patient care, and continuing dedication to the practice of psychiatric pharmacy. The Saklad Memorial Award is named after the late Judith J. Saklad.

Charles Caley received his BS Pharm and Doctor of Pharmacy degrees from the University of Rhode Island. Prior to pursuing his PharmD, he practiced community pharmacy on the island of Martha’s Vineyard. Following his PharmD, he completed a two-year specialty residency in psychiatric pharmacotherapy. Year one was completed at the Institute of Mental Health in Cranston, Rhode Island, and year two at Eastern State Hospital in Medical Lake, Washington. He has been board certified in psychiatric pharmacy since 1996.

The bulk of Dr. Caley’s psychiatric pharmacy career has been spent as a clinical faculty member at the University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy with the Institute of Living in Hartford as his practice site. For the more than 20 years he provided outpatient psychopharmacology consultations, was a treatment team member for the Schizophrenia Rehabilitation Program, precepted more than 350 PharmD students, taught in the psychiatry residency training programs, directed a psychiatric pharmacy residency, and contributed to research and scholarship as a member of the Burlingame Center for Psychiatric Research and Education. During his academic career he has been recognized for his experiential teaching, innovations of practice, and clinical psychopharmacology teaching. Currently he is a consultant for the IOL’s Child and Adolescent Psychiatry residency training program and Post-Graduate Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner Fellowship. As a department chair at WNE, he has been leading and supporting a group of talented faculty who are improving treatment outcomes of citizens in Western Massachusetts.

Dr. Caley is a founding member of AAPP and a founding circle member of the AAPP Foundation. Since its inception he has served in several capacities including program committee chair, public and professional relations committee chair, at-large board member, President, and AAPP Foundation President – currently he is a member of the Employer Resource Center Task Force and a chapter author for the Psychiatric Pharmacotherapy Review Book. Beyond /AAPP, he has also chaired the psychiatric pharmacy specialty council for BPS and completed the AACP Academic Leadership Fellows Program.

Congratulations to Dr. Caley!